German123
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
does anyone know how to structure a 12 mark question in history. My exam board is edexcel A and atm i am studying international relations.
Puddles the Monkey
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by German123)
does anyone know how to structure a 12 mark question in history. My exam board is edexcel A and atm i am studying international relations.
Heya, I'm just going to pop this into the History forum for you, as you might be able to get some more responses there.
German123
Rep:
?
(Original post by puddles the monkey)
heya, i'm just going to pop this into the history forum for you, as you might be able to get some more responses there.

sure thanks.
Dariaandahsfan
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
HEY. It's so great to finally see a forum about the EDEXCEL History GCSE. I have my international relations (COLD WAR) exam on Friday for EDEXCEL.

To structure a 12 mark question: The questions are usually a change...so you have to say HOW relationships have got better/worse. Sometimes it's explain WHY relationships changed... The time period can be anywhere from in a single year (e.g Cuban missile crisis) or a longer time period eg. (1943-49)

(if the question was.... Explain why relations between the USSR and USA changed 1979-91...this is how you'll go about it)

1) State the cause.
Eg: One cause of changing US/USSR relations was the soviet invasion of Afghanistan.

2) Include specific detail for that cause
EG. Its war against Afghan rebels lasted 10 years and 1.5m people died.

3) Show how your identified cause caused relations to change. (THIS IS IMPORTANT. YOU NEED TO DIRECTLY ANSWER THE QUESTION)
EG. The invasion made the USA fear Soviet expansion into the oil-rich Middle East. So relations got worse. Us President Carter imposed economic sanctions, ended the SALT 2 talks and supported the rebels.

4) Explain how causes link together (IF YOU WANT YOUR B, A, A*)