The Student Room Group

Why is Law so under appreciated nowadays, especially compared to other profesions?

Specifically I'm talking about the position of a Barrister.

The demand for newly qualified Law graduates is undoubtably in excess of the amount of positions that are available by corporate firms/chambers. I think therefore, it is perhaps agreeable that only the brightest get in. In addition, to even gain an interview, an applicant would be expected to have graduated with the highest honours from a target/semi target university.

By a stark contrast, Doctors, the profession which everyone seems to make a lot of fuss about are employed regardless of the honours they've achieved (obviously excluding a 3rd). This indifference can be extended to the medical school they went to.

The main question I'm asking, (I'm not a lawyer or Doctor, obviously:tongue:) is why is there a lack of appreciation for those in the legal profession compared to other professions which are much more accessible, and perhaps even easier.

I'm genuinely curious about this despite how inevitably bitter this post comes across.
(edited 9 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Because so many people want to do law and there's a limited number of training contracts available at city firms and substantial cuts to legal aid means its not as viable to offer pupilages so there's not many available.

Compared to medicine there's far fewer places to study medicine since its only really the top universities which offer it commpared to law which is offered at pretty much every university. Also you don't need a law degree to go into the legal profession so there's all the top graduates who took the option of doing a degree in something like history or english, which are easier to get the top grades in, to compete with which wouldn't be the case with medicine.

I don't think there's really a lack of appreciation for the legal profession compared to other professions.
(edited 9 years ago)