Confused about student finance, grants and loans Watch

Tzchov
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I am a student from the UK and I am struggling to understand what loans and grants I can access as a bachelor who is about to study in the Netherlands starting September 2014.
Jzd
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Hi, this website provides you with all information considering student finance in the Netherlands: https://www.duo.nl/particulieren/int...es-it-work.asp

As an international student, you should have a look at the part about the nationality requirements, because you might not be entitled to the full Dutch grant (depends on a couple of things, listed on this website)

Hope this is useful
MartinVanMaas
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
To break it down simply:

Two types of aid, study grant (279 Euros a month), or loan (two types of loans)

First of all, study grants are given to anyone who works 56 hours a month (14 hrs a week) or two anyone who is a dependent of someone who works that amount. That's why Dutch students all get the 279 euro study grant, because their parents work. If, as a foreigner, you want the study grant, you must work 14 hrs a week.

There is also another study grant that adds an additional 250 euros (roughly) to the first grant. This additional grant is issued on a need-based basis. This means that if you parents are below a certain income bracket, you can get this grant.

Now for loans.
There are a few different types of loans. The first type is called a full tuition loan. This is a loan that is paid to you in 12 installments, one for every month of the year. This year, the figure was 156 euro a month, amounting to the full tuition cost. This loan collects interest at a rate of 0.8%.

Another loan option available to you is a simple loan where you can borrow whatever amount you need.