The Student Room Group

Securing a stable job

What are graduates doing to secure stable positions?

I graduated in 2010 with a business management and enterprise degree, i have since done two volunteering roles, one fixed term contract and currently employed on a zero hour contract, it has been four years now and still i cannot find something stable?

I have been to many interviews over the past four years but do not secure the job due to the other person having more experience, i wanted to get into a management role but i do not have anything specific, can anyone make suggestions here?
Reply 1
Have you applied for grad schemes before? I did a degree in Business Management and found that grad schemes essentially train you into a management role most of the time. There was nothing else that I looked at which really seemed like it was going to take me far. I think because so many people study business its very hard to prove you are worth your salt if that makes sense?

Retail is hard but gives a lot of people a buzz. Management isn't hard to get into there, grad schemes take you straight in at deputy manager of smaller stores usually, store manager within a couple of years.
Reply 2
Original post by Tinsley
Have you applied for grad schemes before? I did a degree in Business Management and found that grad schemes essentially train you into a management role most of the time. There was nothing else that I looked at which really seemed like it was going to take me far. I think because so many people study business its very hard to prove you are worth your salt if that makes sense?

Retail is hard but gives a lot of people a buzz. Management isn't hard to get into there, grad schemes take you straight in at deputy manager of smaller stores usually, store manager within a couple of years.