English Literature course or English Lit AND Language course, and at what Uni?

Watch
mickh
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I'm in my first year of college and have started looking into what courses and unis I like the look of and was hoping I could get some advice!
I know for a fact that I want to do English, but I'm finding it exceptionally hard to determine what type of course I want to do.
My top three unis that I love the look of so far are Uni of Leeds, Newcastle and Bristol. Bristol only do one English course and I love the sound of it, meaning I'm having no difficulty with that. But both Leeds and Newcastle offer the chance to do either English Literature or English Literature AND Language, and I just don't have a clue what to go with! I've read the course details but they seem to be quite brief so I don't really know specifically what each course includes and how they differ so much (obviously I know one will include the study of English Language aswell, but what does this involve?)

I'm hoping I can get some feedback from people who have studied either of the courses at Leeds or Newcastle.
Oh and also I'd love to know a bit more in general about studying English at Bristol, Leeds and Newcastle and what any current or post-grads think of the unis in general?
Thank you
Strawberrycayk
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
English Language explores how humans developed the ability and the apparatus to produce speech and communicate with one another, looking at the parts of the brain involved during speaking, reading and listening. You will also explore animals and language, how they communicate with one another and whether animals are capable of learning to communicate with humans, if they can grasp the concept of grammar (see the documentary on Nim Chimpsky). You will learn about speech sounds, accents etc