The Student Room Group

AS Level AQA Biology Unit 1 Help

Hi,

I am a Professional Biology Tutor.

I have attached a set of common questions and model answers for AQA Biology Unit 1.

If you have any questions or anything you are stuck on, just reply to this group or pm me.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Thanks! :smile:
Reply 2
any questions or topics you're unsure about?
Reply 3
Do you think i can achieve a minimum of a C with one days revision?
Reply 4
do you think the last two mark questions will be on the heart
Reply 5
thats its own predictive work - what id recommend is using the set of model answers ive given you and reading over key topics (carbohydrate digestion, test for carbohydrates, enzymes, cell fractionation, indirect AT of glucose, cholera, lung + lung diseases, heart + heart disease, immunity)

i know it seems like everything but i can quickly summarise the most important parts + use the model answers attachment
Reply 6
Original post by oak12
Hi,

I am a Professional Biology Tutor.

I have attached a set of common questions and model answers for AQA Biology Unit 1.

If you have any questions or anything you are stuck on, just reply to this group or pm me.

I got 40/50 in the ISA and need an A overall, what grades do i need to get the get the A in unit 1 and 2?
Reply 7
carbohydrate digestion:

1. STARCH, by salivary amylase in the mouth and pancreatic amylase in the small intestine into Maltose. Maltose by Maltase on lining of SI into glucose

2. SUCROSE, by sucrase on lining of SI

3. LACTOSE, by lactase on lining of SI. lactose intolerance = lack lactase enzyme, therefore have diarrhoea and flatulence. diarhoeaa = undigested lactose lowers WP of lumen of SI, water enters lumen by osmosis - water faeces. flatulence = undigested lactose enters LI - brokendown by microorganisms, releasing gas
Reply 8
When they ask about antibody/enzymes being specific, what sort of question would you need to mention the primary structure?