Spalinkor
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Good evening,

I am a foreigner student and I got an offer from the University Of Sheffield to study International relations and Politics.

However, as I also got into a great university in my country, I was wondering about Uni of sheffield's reputation.

Is the university of Sheffield a well-respected uni ? Does it have a good reputation ?

Of course this is not the only way of choosing my university, but it is something to take in account ...

Thank you for your precious help !!
OMGWTFBBQ
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
It's not bad but not remarkable. It's a mid tier "real" university.

That said British uni's tend to punch above their weight abroad so it depends where you want to work afterwards.
Spalinkor
Rep:
?
(Original post by OMGWTFBBQ)
It's not bad but not remarkable. It's a mid tier "real" university.

That said British uni's tend to punch above their weight abroad so it depends where you want to work afterwards.

Ho thank you for responding ! This is what I heard about the Uni overall, but the department of politics is said to be one of the best in the UK, is that true ?
And does the fact that Sheffield is member of the Russel group have an influence on its prestige ? (I lack information )
OMGWTFBBQ
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by Spalinkor)
Ho thank you for responding ! This is what I heard about the Uni overall, but the department of politics is said to be one of the best in the UK, is that true ?
And does the fact that Sheffield is member of the Russel group have an influence on its prestige ? (I lack information )
I don't know anything about the politics department in particular unfortunately.

A good rule of thumb is that russel group = good though.
Spalinkor
Rep:
?
(Original post by OMGWTFBBQ)
I don't know anything about the politics department in particular unfortunately.

A good rule of thumb is that russel group = good though.
thank u
username944192