Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

Just thought it would be interesting to have this conversation. Having being following the news over the past few years, there are a few events that have a slightly unnerving similarity to pre-WW2 occurrences. Examples are: A large scale economic crisis, swings to the right in parties and attitudes across Europe (UKIP, Golden Dawn etc.), territorial aggression (Russia into Crimea) which is met by a diplomatic response akin to appeasement.

I'm a third year science student so I'm no expert on history, but these kinds of happenings do bring about a certain sense of deja vu. Throw into the mix a shift in world powers as China rockets past the USA in economic growth. Add in the 'rogue' states armed with nuclear weapons and possessing a somewhat alien ideology to our own and a person could be forgiven for being concerned as to where we are heading.

I personally do not believe an outright war will take place as happened during the world wars. The world's economies are too closely interwoven and as everyone knows, money IS power. Also, nuclear weapons make the stakes way to high for outright aggression between equal strength adversaries to be seriously considered.

Anyway, those are my thoughts, what are yours?

TODO x

ReputationRep:
    The United States military - the most powerful in the history of the world - has kept the world relatively safe for the past 69 years.

However, the US is going bankrupt, and when the Pax Americana ends - as it surely will - **** is going to hit the fan. There will be mass violence / revolution / civil war in America. Russian aggression in Europe will no longer be checked. The Middle East is itching for a fight with Israel.