Olive Oyl
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi All,

The PhD funding wait is driving me bonkers. And now I have to wait even longer. Here is the situation - I have a PhD offer, but in mid April I heard that I've been put on a reserve list for departmental funding. The mail said that they will let me know if an award becomes available, but I won't know for sure until July or August.

I have been reading that funds get reallocated a bit in late summer when the research council awards are declared. Do you guys think I stand a chance?
Olive Oyl
Rep:
?
It does seem extremely unlikely that anyone would pass up a fully funded phd opportunity. Very very worried. Any comments/suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks!
Josb
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by Olive Oyl)
It does seem extremely unlikely that anyone would pass up a fully funded phd opportunity. Very very worried. Any comments/suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks!
Yeah the wait is driving me mad too. :mad2:
But as strange as it sounds, some people get several scholarships and therefore have to turn down offers.
Olive Oyl
Rep:
?
It's crazy that I'll have to wait until July-August and then may not even get it. Anyway, fingers crossed and good luck to us. Thanks for the encouraging note Josb.
gutenberg
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
As Josb says, some people do receive several offers, so all hope is not lost. I received two scholarship offers when I applied to PhDs, so naturally I had to turn one down eventually; I found out later that my declined award ended up going to an acquaintance from my undergrad, so I was pleased about that!
Olive Oyl
Rep:
?
That's really good to know I asked them where I stand on the list - I am the second reserve. But since I have no idea how many scholarships were offered in the first place, this information means nothing to me. Hehe. Feeling a bit lighter now. I mean, I'll still have to wait and watch, but feeling just a little less anxious...
QHF