Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    So I went into these holidays with a bit of spare cash and have since spent most of my energy trying not to spend it (it's so hard, there are so many shiny things in the world!) I have pretty much succeeded but am thinking of getting myself a new desktop PC before I head back to uni.

My current (and first *new*) desktop is an Athlon 2100+ I had built for me about 4 years ago which has served me well but doesn't quite cut the mustard anymore. I've investigated a fair few pre-built options but feel I can probably get a fair bit more for my money if I put together the bits myself but would be greatful for a second (and third/fourth/...) opinion on a few of the specifics.

If it helps: I only have a budget of £400-£500 so value is important (though I don't want it to fall apart after 6 months). On and it will probably used mainly for gaming / net surfing / messing about with linux / uni stuff (I'm a computer scientist).

Currently I'm thinking something along the following lines:

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ socket 939
    Motherboard: Asus A8N-E SKT 939 NFORCE 4 AUDIO LAN PCI-Express ATX
    RAM: 1GB DDR PC3200
    Graphics Card: NVidia 7600GT 256mb PCI-E (A Gainward if I can find one)
    Case: Something Cheap...
    PSU: ?
    Hard Drive / Optical Drives: Optional extras if I have the cash as I have some I can scrounge from other machines.

It's my understanding that traditionaly AMD CPU's have been better value for money. However, given the appearance of the Intel Core 2 Duo's and then the subsequent AMD price cuts, have things changed?

Assuming for the moment that AMD is still the way to go: Is AM2 good/better than 939/worthwhile?

Memory wise: Are matched-pairs the extra slot being filled? What about DDR2?