So my school does OCR B for the Physics AS/A2 exam board...

Watch this thread
AlphaMolecule
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
removed
MidnightDream
Badges: 16
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 8 years ago
I do OCR A so I'm not an expert but I've heard that it's a ***** and I think there was a thread on here a while back about the hardest Physics board and OCR B won it
H0PEL3SS
Badges: 12
Rep:
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by AlphaNick)
And I really want to Physics at university. Exam discussion about OCR B is really off-putting, and I am concerned about this exam board. I could go to another Sixth Form which does AQA A, but that is my backup relative to my current school which is far more convenient.

Is OCR B Physics really that bad?
Yes, it is. I love physics, and at the start of the year, I thought that physics would be the one subject I'd be sure to enjoy, but from the first lesson, the content was boring, and the textbook is a load of words and irrelevant pictures (the first page or two, to do with imaging, talks about the use of ultrasounds for pregnant women, and why X-rays aren't used, instead of saying "signals can be made into pictures" and telling us how).
The accompanying CD is also useless, as the practice questions are nothing like the exam style, there are too many pointless activities it wants you to try, which are a waste of time anyway, and they are not a substitute for good explanations and theory, of which there seems to be none whatsoever.
Also, our teachers were (mostly) crap this year too, so if you have amazing teachers who are guaranteed to be teaching you next year, there is some hope for you; if my year 10/11 teacher had been teaching us this year, it would have been a much better experience.