Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I started learning Welsh a couple of years ago but I gave up because it was too hard. I'm much better at learning languages now though and want to give it another go.

I've got a 'teach yourself' book and although that's OK for spoken Welsh and vocabulary it's not very good for grammar. Anyone know of any websites which can explain the grammar, and by that I don't mean anything complicated, just forming sentences and tenses.

Diolch, Gareth.

ReputationRep:
    I think the 'catchphrase' book does a fairly good job. Also, the BBC website is incredibly comprehensive. You can hear a *lot* of spoken Welsh.

ReputationRep:
    Dw i'n hoffi Cymreag achos mae h'in BENDIGEDIG!!

heh, i love my friend Cara imparting her wisdom on me...

ReputationRep:
    actually, does anyone know how to spell the word that sounds like "weech" (scottish "ch") and means "great"?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Mr. Jim)
    actually, does anyone know how to spell the word that sounds like "weech" (scottish "ch") and means "great"?
    Gwych, I'd think, perhaps.

ReputationRep:
    Pob lwc i ti.

ReputationRep:
    Welsh seems like so much fun, it's just so hard to get started with!

I'm tempted to apply for unis in Wales just so I can learn some Welsh.

ReputationRep:
    Wych, Mr Jim

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Happiness)
    Wych, Mr Jim
    woot, thanks! i thought sam never pronounced it with a "g". have been teaching my nieces "poi oi ti?" and "sut oi ti?" etc :p: surprisingly it's all sticking much easier than french or spanish...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Mr. Jim)
    woot, thanks! i thought sam never pronounced it with a "g". have been teaching my nieces "poi oi ti?" and "sut oi ti?" etc :p: surprisingly it's all sticking much easier than french or spanish...
    that'd be 'pwy wyt ti' and 'sut wyt ti', I suspect. Incidentally, mightn't 'wych' be a mutated version of 'Gwych'?

ReputationRep: