JayDu
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
What is it all about, coursework/exam. And what was your general thought on the course?
Changing Skies
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Depends on the board, but I did AQA B.
I studied the gothic genre for the exam, the texts being Macbeth, The Bloody Chamber and Wuthering Heights. Really enjoyed it, it's a really interesting genre :yep: plus, I loved my texts! The exam consists of two 40 mark questions. In section A you choose which text you answer on, in section B you talk about all three texts in a generic gothic question.

For the coursework, one piece was simply a comparison essay. You choose your own question; I chose to look at insanity and torture in The Prussian Officer, The Tell-Tale Heart, and The Pit and the Pendulum. The second piece was applying either a Marxist/Feminist/Metaphor critique to a text (I chose metaphor for Porphyria's Lover)

Personally, I thought the course was amazing. There is a lot more flexibility, especially with the coursework. I'd recommend it to anyone :yep:

(Even if this doesn't help you, hopefully it'll help someone else )

Posted from TSR Mobile
JayDu
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Thanks, actually a huge help
The Empire Odyssey
  • Study Helper
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
A2 is a lot harder to AS...

For A2 students got to pick texts and choose their own theme/essay title.. I chose Enduring Love, Dorian Gray and Othello by Shakespeare and my question was based on morality. It was fun picking something I found interesting in all of the texts. It's so much better. For me, I hated studying a tradition of Lit such as WW1 Literature... in terms of themes and interest, it's so restricting because it's all bout the same thing which becomes boring... (IMO).