The Student Room Group

Confused about PPE

Today at school my self confidence was really knocked by some of my teachers. Up until recently, I'd wanted to study medicine and school had been really supportive about that. However, I've now had a change of heart and decided I wanted to do PPE, hopefully at Oxford.

Yesterday I had a good talk with the gifted and talented coordinator about it all and we had a little political debate and he said he felt I needed to read some books and gain some more understanding of the three disciplines but he said he felt I did well in our first debate.

Then today I went to speak to my head of year, and he told me that my teacher yesterday had said he was very worried about me applying to do PPE?! They're worried because I'm studying chemistry, biology, maths and French and they don't think this is a good subject combination for the course. However, I thought that, as there are no required subjects for the course and maths (which I'm taking) is the only strongly recommended one, I would be fine to apply for this course as long as I show strong interest and potential capability in all the areas. I'm doing facilitating subjects and I thought my grades (predicted all As for A2) would be more important.

I realise that having an essay based subject would be better, but I contacted Oxford asking about whether I should do a history AS next year on top of my A2s and they said to focus on grades so not really.

I've written an essay in my EPQ and when I contacted Oxford about it they recommended that I show my essay skills in other ways, such as the compulsory TSA admissions test for PPE and I've personally looked into some essay competitions.