The Student Room Group

Focus on getting 2.1 or graduate scheme?

Hey guys!

I got my university results a few days go...I'm in my third year of a four year course where 3rd year counts for 50% and fourth year counts for 50%

I didn't do so well...got a 56 average this year so I need a 64 or more next year for a 2.1

My question is should I focus on bumping my grade up and make no/very few grad applications or is it important to somehow do both as best I can? I was thinking about making around 20 applications to top companies like unilever/p and g/BA but is it worth spending a lot of time on this and risking getting a 2.2? How important is it to have a grad job right at the end of your degree?

How do companies like this view taking a year out after graduation for grad schemes?

I know this depends on my personal work ethic/situation but just wanted to know of other peoples experiences/advice

thanks a lot

BD
If you get 2.2, you wont be allowed in to majority of the grad schemes anyway, even if they accept you
Reply 2
Focus on getting your 2.1. You can't risk not getting the grade, whereas you can postpone application

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
Contrary to the above, the obvious answer is do both? I can't believe you need to spend 60 hours a week to get 64, so use some of your spare time to get those applications in.

Obviously to not get the 2.1 is a massive disadvantage, so get it. Similarly, to come out of uni and sit on your hands for a year waiting for 2016 schemes makes no sense.

All of that said, 20 applications is not bad (if done properly). More that I did. So don't feel you have to send off 100 fully customised applications.
Reply 4
Original post by M1011
Contrary to the above, the obvious answer is do both? I can't believe you need to spend 60 hours a week to get 64, so use some of your spare time to get those applications in.