Question about Graduate Law Study at Oxford

Watch
CaraG
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
This is a very premature q considering as I am only just currently taking my A2's, but please bear with me. Forgive my ignorance on the topic of education post-grad. I hope to study Law at Bristol starting from this September, and am interested especially in gender/women in law/ rape as a weapon of war and thereby international human rights law etc

Procrastinating, I was researching graduate programmes at Oxford as I am a post-interview undergrad reject and yet hope to possibly complete a Doctor of Philosophy after (hopefully) graduating from Bristol (I know you have to undertake at least 1 year PRS before you can be accepted onto this Ox programme.) I have some questions:

1. Can you apply for the DPhil without having a masters? e.g coming out of graduating - or is this very rare and thereby pointless?
2. Can you apply to as a graduate student for Oxfords DPhil in Law if you have been to any other UK uni for undergrad study (e.g Bristol)?
3. What is the likelihood of getting onto such a programme considering I won't have been an Oxford undergrad?
4. Would a 1st from Bristol be considered? (I know i'm creating my own dream here, but bear with - this is hypothetical!) or are students generally much older/ with far more life and career experience?
5. Can you research more or less anything during the DPhil e.g Gender and the Law etc?

Thanks!
Estreth
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
1. No. There are various routes but none involves applying to the DPhil directly from your undergraduate degree.
2. Yes. You would do your undergrad at Bristol, then either continue to a Master's at Bristol and then on to the DPhil at Oxford or (better) apply for a Master's at Oxford and then on to the DPhil. Read about the options here: http://www.law.ox.ac.uk/postgraduate/research.php