Katejcr
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I have my second performance mock for music, and I'm having trouble choosing a song to perform, I've decided to sing after my first guitar performance not going as well as planned due to nerves, but I don't know what song to do!
I'd like to do a song from a musical, but the vast majority I like aren't solo. I'd rather not do pop as I have little knowledge of that genre :/
What did you perform?
What do you recommend?
Puddles the Monkey
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by Katejcr)
I have my second performance mock for music, and I'm having trouble choosing a song to perform, I've decided to sing after my first guitar performance not going as well as planned due to nerves, but I don't know what song to do!
I'd like to do a song from a musical, but the vast majority I like aren't solo. I'd rather not do pop as I have little knowledge of that genre :/
What did you perform?
What do you recommend?
Heya, I'm going to put this in the creative and performance arts forum for you as you should get more responses there.

You should also check out the forum to see if there's any other threads there which might be helpful to you! http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=81

I guess you should perform something you enjoy and feel comfortable with!
SilverNight
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
When I did my solo on violin, I think I did 'Allegro' by Telemann. Recommendation for songs I'm bad at, but here's my recommendation at choosing a song.

If I'm not mistaken, GCSE music solo piece should be around about Grade 5, so my advice would be to look at pieces for Grade 5 music for voice (or guitar whichever you choose) from musical exam boards like Trinity or ABRSM and choose a piece from one of those lists.

I think it's also useful to have your instrumental/voice teacher go over and choose the piece with you, so in this way it would also be easier for him/her to teach it to you.