Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    firstly i got in.
    yey
    civil engineering '06
    i got a letter from the dept. saying that i am ''required to take an elective subject from the Humanities Programme''
    ''All humanities/languages options offered are available to you except H15 Humanities Essay'' --what exactly does this mean??

i checked the sight, but there was no H15.

also in the letter, they strongly advise the choice of a language subject... im kind of 50-50 on this... what have you people choosen??
    thanks.

oh and does the elective subject count towards the civil engineering degree?

oh n civil is the greatest of engineering degrees!!!!!! just thought i'd mention that, because it doesnt get as much publicity as the other ones.

ReputationRep:
    well, I'm sorry I can't fully answer your question because I'm not a civil engineering student...
    but if you have the chance to take a language, I'd go for it. It will stand out on your CV more than any other humanities option. On the other hand - I'm not sure exactly what kind of job you'll be looking for later. If it's with a international firm - then taking that language option could really impress them. Anything only UK based with no real contacts abroad won't care that much about a language.

ReputationRep:
    You should call I suppose and ask them exactly what you need to do and what they would recommend or what others do .
    I think I m going to take a language myself, since I did 5 years of german and I don't want those to have been for nothing.

ReputationRep:
    I would reccomend a language as well. The only this is it takes up 3 times more time than any other humanity. But as you are doing an engineering, languages would really compliment your degree well. But if you just want to do a humnities that won't take much of your time... DON'T take a language.

ReputationRep: