Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello.

I am interested in learning French to at least a GCSE standard. I'm not planning to take any exams, just for fun and interest really. I have only learnt Spanish up to GCSE standard as well, but was surprised when I went to Spain last week and was able to get by on my Spanish - it has motivated me to learn as much as possible.

I have no experience of French - I recently started learning words on DuoLingo, and have looked up conjugations in the present tense for the most common verbs. I've also been listening to the alphabet through youtube videos to try and learn the pronunciation (which I am finding a bit difficult atm!).

I'm wondering which books I can buy to help me learn? I was looking at this book:

http://www.pearsonschoolsandfecolleg...ndEdition.aspx

Would it be worth buying? It covers a large range of topics, although I will not be buying the CD with it.

I would like to listen to some French music in the future, but at the moment I just need to become familiar with the language, understand the basic rules and learn some vocabulary.

ReputationRep:
    The Expo book isn't awful and would get you through the course, although I found it to be too full of pointless paragraphs that aren't really of any use - although if you want to break the grammar learning up then I guess that's an advantage.

To get to GCSE standard you basically just need vocabulary and grammar. There's a vocab list on the AQA website that's pretty adequate to get a safe knowledge of everyday words, and for grammar you could even just use about.com, or find any old grammar book on Amazon. GCSE is basically all the tenses (indicative, touch on the subjunctive), and agreement of adjectives etc. Any basic grammar book I'm sure would do the job. Good luck with it

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by enimpri)