thestars
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
If you're already a nursing student I just want to know a few questions.

Can I get a job at the same time?
Because with the clinical placement and shift work etc I'm just wondering if it's possible to have a part time job too or will it clash with the placements?

Is there anytime to go out on the night?

how often do you get your own free time?
kaeli :)
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Hi!

Im in my last year as a nursing student, so im sure i can help.
Yes you can get a job at the same time, I would actually stronly advise it! Although some universities frown upon it, they would'nt tell you not to do it im sure. There is no way you can live off of a Student nurses bursary alone. I have had a part-time job in McDonalds since i began uni. The only problem is that you have to be prepared to be absolutely emotionally, physically and mentally exhausted. What you have to do is ensure you put your shifts at clinical placement first and then work your shifts at your own job around them, definately do not miss a shift at placement because you'd rather work cos at the end of the day you have to make that time back up.

Yes there is time to go out at night, just never a night before you have a shift at placement, its hard enough without being hungover and im sure your mentor will be really pissed if you came in hungover - nurses have been struck off the register for that kind of ****.

Im not sure where your studing so i dont know how your course will work but where i study i work the same shift patterns as my mentor when at placement which from semester 1-8 was 30hrs and semester 9 is 37.5 hours. All other time is yours to do as you please.

I hope this has helped, any other questions I'll be happy to help.
thestars
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
(Original post by kaeli :))
Hi!

Im in my last year as a nursing student, so im sure i can help.