ScootWarr
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
This year I studied Maths, Further Maths, Biology, Chemistry and Physics at AS. I know that I am definitely dropping biology next year but I don't know whether to drop chemistry as well and do an EPQ along with my 3 A2s or just to carry on with 4 A-levels.

I am hoping to go to university to study maths at Warwick/Cambridge.

Do you think carrying on chemistry would be better even though it would be more of a workload? I'm a bit concerned that I will want a lot of spare time to prepare for STEP papers as well so I don't want to have an overwhelming about of work throughout the year.

Thanks
Hunnybeebee
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Have you thought about planning and nailing down your epq this summer (also keeps you busy until results day) and when the epq presentations commence at one point during the year you'll be ready allowing you to continue with chemistry?

If you're finding 4 A2's too much then dropping chem would be okay (as long as the uni and course accepts that)
Nymthae
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
I'd drop chemistry, just for the sake of STEP. You really need to invest time in that instead, and the fourth subject won't give you any further advantage really. If you get and firm an offer then the place you're most likely to miss it on is STEP so better go for the safer option at this stage
Nathan0012
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by ScootWarr)
This year I studied Maths, Further Maths, Biology, Chemistry and Physics at AS. I know that I am definitely dropping biology next year but I don't know whether to drop chemistry as well and do an EPQ along with my 3 A2s or just to carry on with 4 A-levels.

Do you think carrying on chemistry would be better even though it would be more of a workload? I'm a bit concerned that I will want a lot of spare time to prepare for STEP papers as well so I don't want to have an overwhelming about of work throughout the year.