Changing onto an economics degree. Help please. Watch

fishxyz123
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi there,
I have just completed my first year of History and Politics but wanted to change the History element to Economics. I have spoken to the relevant people in the prospective department and they said this may be possible. My question to you guys is - will this jump be too much? Considering I will have missed the first year of Economics will i find it too difficult? Has anyone else made this switch or are there any Economics students who could help me?
Many thanks.
Sanchez
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
It entirely depends upon how the degree programme is structured. If it is cumulative and builds on the first year knowledge then I'd say it's definitely going to be a struggle. I'm a first year economics student (beginning second year in September) and I'd say without the first year knowledge I've acquired (especially in mathematics aspects of the course) the second year would be extremely difficult.
fishxyz123
Rep:
?
(Original post by Sanchez)
It entirely depends upon how the degree programme is structured. If it is cumulative and builds on the first year knowledge then I'd say it's definitely going to be a struggle. I'm a first year economics student (beginning second year in September) and I'd say without the first year knowledge I've acquired (especially in mathematics aspects of the course) the second year would be extremely difficult.
They cover a fair amount of maths in the first year and do macro/micro economics in year one and then advanced macro/micro in year two so i'd say it's fairly cumulative. Is the maths basic statistics that i could teach myself over this long summer?
Sanchez
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by fishxyz123)