This process of finding a job is depressing.

Watch
Gherk
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I'm a university student with no work experience and have been job searching for the summer. I've applied to about 20 places now and have received no responses so far. I'm desperate to attain work experience before I graduate, but it seems like I'll be doomed to be unemployed for the whole summer. Even the most menial of jobs seem to have rigorous selection processes now; it's absurd.

Does anyone have any advice on increasing my chances of being employed?
C.Almasy
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Good luck. Don't expect much help from anyone though. People these days are economically fascist almost whilst being socially liberal.
somethingunique
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
One time i was at an interview for a high street store and this girl (who i happened to know from sixth form was also there). It was a group interview and the girl spoke all about how she had so and so experience, so I said to her ''wow how did you get all that experience'', she told me she lied about it all...
PolyVixen
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by Gherk)
I'm a university student with no work experience and have been job searching for the summer. I've applied to about 20 places now and have received no responses so far. I'm desperate to attain work experience before I graduate, but it seems like I'll be doomed to be unemployed for the whole summer. Even the most menial of jobs seem to have rigorous selection processes now; it's absurd.

I agree :sadnod: You have to know someone. You just do.
somethingunique
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Try small local corner shops, clothes shops, charity shops, vintage stores, summer school helper, tutoring children, a local bakery, a very local cafe?
em.d_4
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by Gherk)

What sort of job do you want?

Posted from TSR Mobile
XMaramena
Badges: 22
Rep:
?