Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Heya

So I'm studying Russian in September and I still haven't learnt my alphabet cause I'm lazy and rubbish at teaching myself but anyway could anyone tell me if this is how my name would look in Russian:
    Бетан
    A translator thing said that is Bethan in Russian but I just wanted to know!

ReputationRep:
    Firstly cudos on doing Russian at uni! You got my blessing and I wish you best of luck!

I'd translate your name as "Betty" i.e. Бэтти. I'm sure I've met "Betty" in Russian books. Бетан sounds like a boys name in Russian, the reason is that in Russian girls names always end with a vowel, whilst boys full names end with a consonant. Boys short names almost always end with a vowel as well. There must be a few exeptions but I can't even think of one!

ReputationRep:
    So I'm studying Russian in September
    Hi ! Just out of interest, what is it you like about Russian and what made you decide to want to do it at uni ?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Chestnyh Psihov)
    Hi ! Just out of interest, what is it you like about Russian and what made you decide to want to do it at uni ?
    Heya

Errrm, well I love the history and background and I've read a lot of books by people like Solzhenitsyn, Nabokov and Bulgakov which I've loved. I've also always wanted to learn a language with a different alphabet and I was just automatically attracted to Russia!
    I also love cold weather and vodka :p:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by tanusha-tomsk)
    Firstly cudos on doing Russian at uni! You got my blessing and I wish you best of luck!

I'd translate your name as "Betty" i.e. Бэтти. I'm sure I've met "Betty" in Russian books. Бетан sounds like a boys name in Russian, the reason is that in Russian girls names always end with a vowel, whilst boys full names end with a consonant. Boys short names almost always end with a vowel as well. There must be a few exeptions but I can't even think of one!