Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I studied Economics and graduated two years ago, I took a data technician job after graduating, where, I thought I would use some statistical concepts that I learnt.

It turned out that the main responsibility was data entry and recently I took a project management role within the same organisation but have learnt it is not a job or career I want to pursue.

I applied for a Junior Business Analyst role in a different organisation received a call where the recruitment advisor said that I might be better suited to a Credit Analyst role and put me forward for that job for which I am awaiting a call back from the hiring manager.

I am not very confident of getting the job as I haven't used statistics since uni. If I don't get the job I am thinking about quitting my current job to spend time to revisit modules that I took at university to improve my chances in future applications for similar jobs.

Do you think employers would see this a valid reason to leave my current job or would it be seen as a negative?

Do you think this a good idea or shall I stick it out at my current well paid but unsatisfying job?

Sorry if this isnt the correct forum to post this.

Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Mark,

ReputationRep:
    Terrible idea, does not make any sense. These are junior roles you are applying for anyway, nobody expects you to walk in and know everything.

ReputationRep:
    I'll second that. Quitting a job to revise isn't very resilient. Why can't you revise statistics in the evening?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Mark14)
    Hi,

I studied Economics and graduated two years ago, I took a data technician job after graduating, where, I thought I would use some statistical concepts that I learnt.