Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So my background is the following. I have a BA in Political Economy from a non-target school, summa *** laude, top of class graduate, with exchanges at HKUST and U of P where I was also in the top percentiles.

The entire last year after my graduation I've been applying and trying to network, emailing with people and attending fairs.

I received two interview opportunities for smaller boutique consultancies. In both cases I made it to the final round after six and four interviews respectively, however, was not offered the position. In the last few months I more often was cocky enough to just straight out ask what was wrong with my application. Candid feedback I got usually included something like: "Looking at it, your application actually is stronger than most we get, but we can't interview you as your school is only top 200, not top 100." or some **** like that.

Anyway, as alternative I have now applied to MSc programmes and been accepted to the Imperial College's MSc in Strategy & Economics for Business. The program and living in London would basically bankrupt me and plunge me into desperate debt. So, I need to mitigate my risk, by asking as many people as possible whether it would finally get me in the interview chair.

Depending on that my second question would be, should I start applying again for 2015 (to all the big companies at least), including the program on my CV with grades obviously not yet included? Or should I wait until at least around November?

Any opinions appreciated...

ReputationRep:
    "...school is only top 200", are you from the UK, I don't think their is more than 120 universities let alone 200. I am no expert (A-level student lol) but reading the destination data, "The MSc Economics & Strategy for Business aims to provide business graduates with the advanced skills to apply sophisticated economic analysis directly to business policy and strategy."