The Student Room Group

Graduate depression... Advice much appreciated...

Hi,

I'm in a very difficult situation at the moment. I fear that I may be becoming seriously unemployable.

I graduated in July 2012 with a 2:1 degree in business management. I then took a gap year to South America to travel and mainly stayed with grandparents. I stayed there for 7 months, one of which was spent doing an internship at an insurance company. The rest of the time, I didn't do anything very productive... Apart from passively improving my Spanish, catching up with family and a little bit of travel.

I came back to the UK in March 2013 to start focusing on looking for a graduate job. I moved back in with my parents. Of course, I soon realised how difficult it can be... I even struggled finding a part-time job for a while, and was forced to go on job-seekers' allowance. After a while, I got a job as a barman at a very busy bar during weekends.

Basically, I've been at this job for almost a year now. It can be enjoyable - I've made a lot of friends, and it's improved my confidence somewhat. It's not a bad thing that you get girls coming onto you as well. But as you may be able to appreciate, it's not at all relevant to my degree and I've been there way too long... It's only distracts me and makes me forget about my real priorities.