Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying BSc (Hons) Astronomy and Planetary sciences with the Open University. My ultimate ambition is to have a career in scientific research.

I'm currently in my first year, and I've received an offer from Leicester University for entry into their MPhys Physics with Astrophysics programme -- I would be entering into the first year.

The MPhys would certainly put me on the right track to a career in research. However, it would also represent a step back as I would essentially be starting my undergraduate degree again. Moreover, I quite enjoy distance learning.

If I was to continue with the OU, what chances do I fare when applying for a PhD? With a degree from the OU, is a masters a requisite for a PhD?

More broadly speaking, is a masters a requisite for a career in research (astronomy, astrophysics, etc)?

Many thanks in advance

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by BenBancroft)
    I'm currently studying BSc (Hons) Astronomy and Planetary sciences with the Open University. My ultimate ambition is to have a career in scientific research.

I'm currently in my first year, and I've received an offer from Leicester University for entry into their MPhys Physics with Astrophysics programme -- I would be entering into the first year.

The MPhys would certainly put me on the right track to a career in research. However, it would also represent a step back as I would essentially be starting my undergraduate degree again. Moreover, I quite enjoy distance learning.

If I was to continue with the OU, what chances do I fare when applying for a PhD? With a degree from the OU, is a masters a requisite for a PhD?

More broadly speaking, is a masters a requisite for a career in research (astronomy, astrophysics, etc)?

Many thanks in advance
    Problem with distance learning:
    - Your Thesis will have to be theoretically.