Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Has anybody self-taught A level Maths in one year? Is it expensive, hard? I'm currently doing 4 AS levels and love them all but the uni I wuld like to attend recommended I took on Maths... I have the drive to do it but would love to hear from others

ReputationRep:
    If you have the drive to do it, you'll have no problem with it whatsoever. If you wanna do it, you'll do it. The only thing A-Level maths needs is time and patience, and if I'm honest, I think someone who teaches themselves is likely to do better than a regular person in a class.

Ok thank you, did you self teach? Do u know any good textbook etc?

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by richiebee)

Posted from TSR Mobile
    Which exam board are you doing? I self-taught Edexcel A level maths using the edexcel heinemann textbooks (the ones with the CD-rom in the back of the textbook - these contain worked solutions to all the textbook questions). I found them very easy to self-teach from.

ReputationRep:

Posted from TSR Mobile
    No, I didn't self teach, but the other side of the coin is, I know that having to go to class when you just don't wanna do maths is demotivational; and when I wanted to do it at home, I got through a lot. So I'm placing bets on someone who loves what they're doing - doing it how and when they want to do it - succeeding.