Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Hi everyone.
    I wear an abaya which if u dont know is a full length loose fitting clothing like a maxi with sleeves i guess. I have been wearing it for probably 7 years and i also wear a hijab and i feel very limited in what i can do due to my abaya. I feel like it is quite impractical to wear one and i feel ugly in on etbh, and that i wont get a job as people will look at me weirdly. My friends dress up really nicely when we go out or meet at each others houses and i am not allowed to wear western clothing so i dont take my abaya off. I am just feeling really low atm and dont know what to do. I am applying for jobs at this current moment and feel like giving up because as soon as they see me on interview day etc. they are gonna be like :lolwut:
    im gonna get some horrible comments i bet about how i shouldnt wear it as i live in the UK blah blah...

ReputationRep:
    Sorry to hear about that. I'm pretty sure that Islamic law dictates that you should wear clothes which cover your body and don't expose your figure, in which case there are certain 'western' clothes that do this too. Most hijabis that I seen tend to wear floor-length skirts and a black one would resemble the abaya style of clothing. You could wear a top with a blazer / cardigan over the top. Perhaps you could ask your parents to reach a compromise in terms of this? It might also be worth explaining that an abaya wouldn't be appropriate dress for job interviews.

I'm really sorry I can't be more helpful but you can message me if you want to talk about anything

ReputationRep:
    You are 'not allowed to wear western clothing' says it all really. Your parents shouldn't be forgiving you to dress in a way that makes you feel uncomfortable, ugly and generally down and ideally, you need to explain this to them and dress as you see fit.