The Student Room Group

Buying a tablet for uni?

I'm studying English with Egyptology, and was wondering whether it would be worth while to buy a tablet such as a kindle or iPad rather than carrying books with me? Ideas are appreciated :smile:
Reply 1
Original post by mallow300
I'm studying English with Egyptology, and was wondering whether it would be worth while to buy a tablet such as a kindle or iPad rather than carrying books with me? Ideas are appreciated :smile:

I'm not really much of a gadget expert, but isn't a kindle an e-book reader rather than a tablet computer (with the added disadvantage that it doesn't work for all file formats, so basicallyf you buy one you're forever shackled to amazon)?:confused:

Anyway, in terms of practicality, I wouldn't really say it's necessary to get a gadget for reading books electronically for your degree. You probably won't be carrying that many books around with you on a day-to-day basis anyway, unless you happen to be returning from the library or something. Using an e-book reader might make sense for things like primary texts for English, but the secondary texts you'll be working with may not have been digitised at all - and even if they have been, it would seem a bit counterintuitive to buy the digital versions if you can easily access library copies for free.
(edited 9 years ago)
Depending on your budget, a kindle is a good choice and you can find a lot of free e books on the internet, not just ones from Amazon.

But an iPad on the other hand is a kindle with added functions, such as the internet(good for googleing stuff), camera(recording lectures), and other cool apps to keep you entertained.

I think if you want something that will replace your books, then a Kindle is perfectly fine, an iPad is just surplus to requirements with it a high price tag.

Posted from TSR Mobile
A kindle would be a lot cheaper.