Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Is this normal? My loan and grant hardly cover my accommodation at university Watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm a final year student, should receive full loan and grant after being means tested, and I'm getting around £6,194 in total. My accommodation is around £5,500 a year in university halls, and that's one of the cheapest ones.

I just want to know if the money they're paying me is around what everyone else is getting living at uni outside London. I know of people getting more than 8k living at home in London so I don't see how they've worked this out.

ReputationRep:
    I have nothing to contribute at all but:

including the loan i get 11.5k next year.

i wont be spending a lot of it for uni related stuff.

I will be buying a 2009 2.0 tdi Audi A4.

i live outside of london, and at home.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ruthlessv)
    I have nothing to contribute at all but:

including the loan i get 11.5k next year.

i wont be spending a lot of it for uni related stuff.

I will be buying a 2009 2.0 tdi Audi A4.

i live outside of london, and at home.
    Lend us a tenner?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 0906079)
    Lend us a tenner?
    sorry mate, diesel is expensive and getting 38 mpg is not too amazing.

ReputationRep:
    If you can't afford accommodation, the obvious thing would be to choose a uni that's commutable from your hometown

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Skip_Snip)
    If you can't afford accommodation, the obvious thing would be to choose a uni that's commutable from your hometown
    Great, I'll just drop out in my final year and start over again.

ReputationRep:
    I'm a final year student, should receive full loan and grant after being means tested, and I'm getting around £6,194 in total. My accommodation is around £5,500 a year in university halls, and that's one of the cheapest ones.