Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

French Alevel - but it's been years since I studied French? Im Stuck! Watch

ReputationRep:
    I want to study Alevel French distant learning but it's been 14 years since I studied French at school even though I did get A*. I can't afford a tutor to brush up on the language or do a local evening course (not that there are any local too me anyway!). I've just got a GCSE French revision book from the library but even this is a bit of a boggle. It's not so much understanding it, it's more the layout and lack of guidance and trying to tutor myself well it leaves me a bit lost. Plus I don't think i'll be able to tell when i'll be at a suitable level to take on the Alevel. I've heard it's a hard one, a big step up from gcse. What exactly is meant by that? So any suggestions or advice, insights or anything. In already torn between pursuing a degree in French or archaeology as it is. I'm considering taking Alevel biology alongside French as well. Will I need to take a third option?

Tarp!!

ReputationRep:
    1) What's the step up?

- It's a huge step up. You have to construct your own ideas and string them into sentences. You'll have to write essays (I say essay, it's sub 250 words), have an oral exam which includes some stimuli and spontaneous responses etc. So you have to think for yourself a lot. No space for pre learnt speeches.

2) Will I need a third option?

- Depends on what you already have at the moment. If you already have some a levels, then you might not have to!

_______

I'd say start with basic grammar. Use about.com for that, it's great. Also use TSR, I'd be happy to try and help.

Then you'll want to see which board you'd be with and look at their syllabus.

If you can't afford things, being a private candidate might be too expensive.

ReputationRep: