Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Motorway Questions for a Newbie! Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello.

So I passed my driving last month and finally got my first car too!

In about 6 weeks, I'm anticipating my first motorway journey and am a complete newbie to motorways!

A lot of advice that I've seen is stuff like "don't hog the middle lane" etc. Can anyone define how long you have to be in the middle lane to actually be hogging it?

Also, any advice is greatly appreciated! Thank you x

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by CC2010)
    A lot of advice that I've seen is stuff like "don't hog the middle lane" etc. Can anyone define how long you have to be in the middle lane to actually be hogging it?
    Exactly 32.5 seconds.

Spoiler:
    Show

But seriously, you should only be in the middle lane if you want to overtake someone on the left. If you're not overtaking then move back into the left lane. (Unless of course the left lane splits away from the motorway)

ReputationRep:
    Everyone stays in the middle because its the best. You have the luxury of cruising at 70 and not being slowed down by lorries.

ReputationRep:
    ^
    You can also go into the middle lane when approaching a sliproad to let the people out.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Runninground)
    Exactly 32.5 seconds.

Spoiler:
    Show

But seriously, you should only be in the middle lane if you want to overtake someone on the left. If you're not overtaking then move back into the left lane. (Unless of course the left lane splits away from the motorway)
    I'm going to pretend that I didn't sincerely think 32.5seconds was the time limit for all of 10seconds!

Thank you!

--
    Thank you for all the replies, probably the most helpful simple pieces of advice I've read!

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    There is nothing wrong with doing 70 or being in the slow run.