The Student Room Group

Why do people hate immigrants?

Hi everyone I'm an Indian student who's been living in the UK for 6 years and I have seen racism unprovoked racism against Indians and other minorities here in the UK ,I'd like to know why do some people hate immigrants?

In my opinion most people get angry towards the immigrants or non-white people who they think are responsible for the above being done, they don't bother to ask themselves who is letting it happen, who is opening the floodgates and why.

One thing most English people do not understand about the whole immigration and visa system in the UK is that it is one hell of a money maker for the Government and thus provides a ton of jobs. Most of you guys wouldn't know that as you probably never dealt with trying to get your family to visit from India, Pakistan or married someone from abroad etc... The Visa fees are very high, if you marry a girl in say India and want to bring her back to the UK, she now has to pass a IELTS test again which is expensive (money goes to British Embassy), then the spouse visa is around at least £800-£1k (increases in price each year pretty much). Then once the girl is in the UK, you pay more for further tests and then more for indefinite leave to remain and then finally some more to become a naturalised and then a British Citizen. All of this is one very big business and it isn't going to go away soon because there's just too much money involved. So my theory is the British Government let in a certain amount of people each year to give hope to those who apply for visas so they spend their cash on the visas, if the Government stopped all immigration those people applying for visas would stop and this cash cow would come to a halt. It doesn't make it right but where there is greed, morals and values go out the window.

All of this is a product of your own people and no one else is to blame.
(edited 9 years ago)

Scroll to see replies