Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Good answers for these interview questions Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I have an interview coming up soon, and I am sure I will be asked the following questions, based on my experience attending previous interviews...

1) What is your weakness?
    I am not good at public speaking... Is this a good answer?

2) Why did you choose X course at university?

Now, what are good questions to ask them - ones that may get me the job.

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by po10tial)
    Hi,

I have an interview coming up soon, and I am sure I will be asked the following questions, based on my experience attending previous interviews...

1) What is your weakness?
    I am not good at public speaking... Is this a good answer?

2) Why did you choose X course at university?

Now, what are good questions to ask them - ones that may get me the job.

Thanks
    1) It might be good to try to come up with a "weakness" that is more of a strength/could be viewed as a strength, and don't pick a quality that is essential to the job! i.e. you want to frame your chosen "weakness" to give it a positive spin and use the question to persuade them more that you are the ideal candidate for the job.

It doesn't matter so much what you pick as your "weakness", but rather how you talk about it to make yourself sound better. Definitely don't pick an actual serious flaw that you have!

You want to show the interviewer that you have skills in self-reflecting. I would suggest also going onto explain how you are planning on improving your "weakness", or you could talk about something you struggled with in the past and how you went on to deal with it. Maybe explain where the difficulties lie in the skill.