Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Confusion over police reprimand from '07 and university situation Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello....

I am a current student at university just finished my second year, and so I am looking forward or graduating with a decent degree classification and going onto further study, after having worked very hard.

Now, I kind of expect people here to jump to conclusions here and assume I'm some liar or have been deliberately dishonest, but it all honesty I had always not really thought much of it. As I thought it irrelevant given the legal context of my situation.

Basically, in 2006/7 (aged 16/17) I was issued with a reprimand by the police for an offence I committed when I was 15 for "...Burglary in a place other than a dwelling" with intent to steal/trespassing. Now, of course this sounds horrendous and I make no excuse for my behaviour, except for, I was young and misled and had many issues (fathers death as a youth).

Normally this would carry a prison sentence, however, since it was a first offence I got a reprimand, which of course is not technically a conviction, therefore is not covered by the ROA act (rehabilitation of the offenders act), but because of this and the fact the offence is on a list agreed by parliament (non-filtered offences) I have to declare it.

Of course, at the time of applying for uni I never realised this (at the time) and I have never declared it to the uni. Whether or not I am breaking any legal code is debatable, but certainly breaking uni policy. I have just checked the policy and apparently I was supposed to declare my reprimand regardless or nature of offence. I'm now a third year student and I feel if I now declare it I will be kicked out of university.

Any advise?