Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm a fourth year who has seen a drop in my results from pre-clinical to clinical Medicine.

I think I'm studying in the wrong way or I'm just plateuting due to lack of talent/intellect. I seem to be very dedicated and serious but I do not seem to be getting limited return on my investment.

How I study?
    • Read book be that ABC/lecture notes/At a glance series
    • Try to understand and focus on the chapters (I do not make notes)
    • Look and work through core clinical cases books (I do not use past papers or questions banks)
    • Take exam
    • Pass but not competitively

Possible reasons why I may be revising in the wrong way for clinical written exams
    • I do not make notes as I can recall the information from the book shown by the praise I get in teaching sessions and by other students for my knowledge.I think notes cause me to get bogged down by details and to not understand the big picture, which is vital for clinical exams/practice
    • I do not look at guidelines or university lecture notes due to them not being holistic and too rote
    • I do not use past papers or question banks

What am I doing wrong and how can I improve?
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    Books like at a glance etc. are OK for revision but have you thought about using a larger text for your studying? Plus bringing in information like Patient.co.uk (absolutely amazing resource for medical students) and OHCM. I think it's a combination of triangulation of information and the narrowing down of reading when it is coming up to exams that are important for clinical revision. Ward time important as well!