Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I got my results 3 weeks ago and found out that I failed 5 out of 10/11 modules for the whole year (2013/2014). I was seriously devastated and depressed and wanted to quit. My parents managed to encourage me and convince me to give the resits a try. I studied a bit for the past 2 weeks but lately I've been feeling extremely depressed, sad and angry again. I put in the effort and it is just so frustrating.
    I really feel like quitting, do you think it's the right thing to do?
    I feel my passion for medicine slowly disappearing. I can't bring myself to study for 5 modules over the summer...
    I don't know what to do.

ReputationRep:
    If you are feeling depressed, sad and angry as you say, I really recommend talking to someone. Perhaps get in touch with a pastoral tutor to talk about how you are feeling or at least someone you know and trust.

As for your exams, was anything worrying you at the time of the exams or beforehand? It is only your first year, it can be difficult to get into the swing of things at first.

Have you only been thinking of quitting since you got your exam results? Do you otherwise enjoy your course? If you have been enjoying yourself and this is a bit of an unexpected disappointment, I think it is really worth pressing on with the revision in preparation for resits. If you are as hard working as you say I am sure you are capable of passing. You just need to look at where you have gone wrong and focus. Also focus on the positive aspects, you passed the other modules. Think why. Did you approach them differently? Did you use a particular study technique which may not have been extended to all your modules?

Message me if you need any help with anything.

ReputationRep: