Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Is 24 years too old for University? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi everybody, I am a 24 year old male who is going to be studying English and Journalism at UWE Bristol in September. However, what worries me is whether I have left it too late to make a career in journalism. For example, I will be 27 years old when my degree is finished and would media outlets still take me on and give me a job. Secondly, when I see younger people who have gone abroad and had work experience it makes me feel more insecure knowing that they are six years younger then me and have more experience. The only experience I have is writing for my student newspaper at College. Lastly at 24 years old will I still be able to enjoy myself or is it just me overreacting?

ReputationRep:
    No.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by oaksi567)
    Hi everybody, I am a 24 year old male who is going to be studying English and Journalism at UWE Bristol in September. However, what worries me is whether I have left it too late to make a career in journalism. For example, I will be 27 years old when my degree is finished and would media outlets still take me on and give me a job. Secondly, when I see younger people who have gone abroad and had work experience it makes me feel more insecure knowing that they are six years younger then me and have more experience. The only experience I have is writing for my student newspaper at College. Lastly at 24 years old will I still be able to enjoy myself or is it just me overreacting?
    I'm turning 24 and going to UWE in September too (hopefully!). It's never too late to go to uni and enjoy yourself - there are plenty of people older than us who go and still have a great time .

ReputationRep:
    To answer the actual question, rather than the one that everyone seems to want to answer: Probably not.