Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Student Finance Madness!!! HELP Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi Everyone!!

So basically i'm having complete madness with student finance, sure you all are as well, its such a pain sometimes!!

So... i'm applying to be an Independent Adult Student because this way I can claim grants. So I've not lived at home with my parents for three years now. For the first two years I lived with my partner and his mother. In the past 10 months though me and my partner have been privately renting and moved out of his mothers house.

So from 2011-2012 I was studying at Wakefield College and working at WhSmiths - Low Income (because I was a student I couldn't claim any goverment money help I had to live on my REALLY REALLY low income)

2012 - 2013 I was studying at Wakefield College and working at WhSmiths - Low Income (because I was a student I couldn't claim any goverment money help I had to live on my REALLY REALLY low income)

2013 - 2014 I have been an apprentice so again a really low income but then couldn't claim anything because of boyfriends salary.

So basically my partner has supported me financially for the past three years. For me to be classed as Adult Learner and supporting myself they want me to have earned more than 7k a year but I haven't, they refuse to take my partners income into account because we are not married!!

I'm now stuck because I wont be able to claim any student finance because they want me to put my parents income in but they don't really want to be involved because I've not lived with them for the past three years.

Anyone had the same problem? or have any suggestions?
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Are you still in contact with your parents?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mbehartley)
    Hi Everyone!!

So basically i'm having complete madness with student finance, sure you all are as well, its such a pain sometimes!!