Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    After looking at my diet it turned out I had been eating very low calories for most of my life. That explained why I am 8st 8lbs and very skinny.

I started lifting last Friday, and also overhauled my diet (still various deficiencies I haven't ironed out yet but I'm hitting the right proportions of protein/carbs/fats now).

It's been 5 days since starting and I've gained 4lbs, having gone up to 8st 12lbs.

Is this too much of a rapid gain? my TDEE is 2242 according to IIFYM. My target for bulking is 2466 calories but I usually eat 2350-2500. I thought it would be more like 1lb/week. Could it be an initial thing?

I'm just worried about ending up "skinny-fat" tbh.

Cheers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by spleenharvester)
    After looking at my diet it turned out I had been eating very low calories for most of my life. That explained why I am 8st 8lbs and very skinny.

I started lifting last Friday, and also overhauled my diet (still various deficiencies I haven't ironed out yet but I'm hitting the right proportions of protein/carbs/fats now).

It's been 5 days since starting and I've gained 4lbs, having gone up to 8st 12lbs.

Is this too much of a rapid gain? my TDEE is 2242 according to IIFYM. My target for bulking is 2466 calories but I usually eat 2350-2500. I thought it would be more like 1lb/week. Could it be an initial thing?

I'm just worried about ending up "skinny-fat" tbh.

Cheers
    Initial water gain etc.

Carry on what you're eating for two weeks, and then track your progress.

Also, I'm glad you've done your research!

ReputationRep:
    Generally, if you're eating more calories than your body normally requires to sustain itself, you'll gain weight and vice versa. Other factors are involved but this is the base to any weight gain or loss.