Pharmacy at Strathclyde as mature student.

Watch this thread
User947387
Badges: 17
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi guys;

Running into some difficulty with the somewhat arbitrary guidelines concerning classification of students.

I am a law graduate; 28 yo. I wish to return to university; and study Pharmacy at Strathclyde. However; all of my existing Highers are in humanities based subjects; and I have NO science background. I have been accepted for college this year; to study Higher Maths, Biology and Chemistry.

I am NOT eligible for any of the SWAP courses; by virtue of the fact that I am already a university graduate.

The big stumbling block seems to be that they really want applicants to have Advanced Highers as well. However; with the college mergers; most colleges are no longer providing them, and the few that do, are situated around 100 miles away from me, so not really practical to study.

I was wondering, does anyone know what alternative qualifications I could use in lieu of the Advanced Highers?

PS:

According to the Scottish Credit Qualification Framework, a HNC/Advanced Higher is classed as a level 7. If I did a relevant HNC would that give me a chance?
EmmaHalley
Badges: 7
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 7 years ago
Have you thought of doing an access to higher education in pharmacy or applied science? It's one year and gets you into uni. I've just done one and I'm into strathclyde now! Not sure if a college will offer it near you though!

Posted from TSR Mobile
ObitoX
Badges: 0
Rep:
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by apronedsamurai)
Hi guys;

Running into some difficulty with the somewhat arbitrary guidelines concerning classification of students.