Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Should I mention this on my CV or cover letter? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,

I graduated in Physics from the University of Southampton back in 2013 and then managed to pick up a more specialized Masters course at Imperial College for the 2013 year in 'Quantum Fields and Fundamental Forces'. Managed to do the first semester and then really doubt my eventual capability/use in that field, so I chucked in the ol' towel! Anyway, I was wondering if it was worth mentioning on a CV, or alluding to (if relevant) on a cover letter, I wasn't sure if it would look bad... but then I think in someways it has 'good' implications about my character... maybe.

Anyway, I wasn't sure if the precedent was to include something like that or better off leaving it out - and if I did include it, how would you elegantly write "I scarpered"

Thanks,
    SK

ReputationRep:
    I wouldn't. You didn't gain qualifications from it and it may look like you give up too easily (not saying you did)

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by holson)
    I wouldn't. You didn't gain qualifications from it and it may look like you give up too easily (not saying you did)

Posted from TSR Mobile
    I agree

ReputationRep:
    Yeah I have the same feelings, after doing a swift Google search it seemed it may be worth mentioning if, say, you did a couple of years on a degree (I think you get some sort of award for that?). In addition, I was thinking I wouldn't be able to do myself justice in writing alone.

Thanks holson, and Emma for the affirmation!

• See more of what you like on The Student Room

You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.

• Poll
    Will you be richer or poorer than your parents?
    Useful resources

Articles and guides:

Hands typing

Degrees without fees

Discover more about degree-level apprenticeships.