Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Advice for anyone moving away from home/ out of halls Watch

ReputationRep:
    I wanted to write this just to communicate some pearls of wisdom to people who are moving away from home into communal living/ moving out of halls and moving into house shares with people of your own choice for the first time. I've been a student for 4 years now. 3 years spent at one uni and my 1 year postgraduate spent at another. I like to think I have a fairly balanced view of communal living (both from good and bad experiences) and I'd like to share my perspective with people who'd like some tips:

Halls:
    1.) Try and make the best of your first year in halls. Being tossed into a flat with a load of other bewildered freshers in theory is a recipe for a nightmare but most halls offer all bills included, many will have ensuite bathrooms, enough storage space for everyone in the flat and 24 hr mainteance and security - you will miss that when you move into private accomodation. No matter how bad your flatmates are just be thankful you're not having to chase them for bill money and you can call security if the neighbour's party is going on til 2am and you have an exam the next day!

2.) You may not meet your best friends in your flat or even in the neighbouring flats or your halls - you will meet like minded people at some point so don't let yourself get down if you don't click with your flat. Just be pleasant, considerate and busy yourself with the people you do get on with.

3.) Get into the habit of raising issues with flatmates face to face early on. Avoid text messages when you can and try and employ a bit of give and take - Yeah your flatmate in the room next door is chatting on the phone til midnight but you did have friends staying over last week who woke the whole flat up coming back from a night out. Exercise a bit of tolerance (ear plugs help!) and try not to be a hypocrite when it comes to noise/ mess.