Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Masters in Comparative Literature: Glasgow or Nottingham? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone.
    I'm an Italian graduate and I just found out that I won two scholarships: one for a Mlitt in Comp Lit at the University of Glasgow, and the other one for a MA in the same field at the University of Nottingham. Now: I lived and worked in Glasgow for a few months this year and I am literally in love with this city, because of the lifestyle, the club scene, etc... but I don't want my choice to be entertainment-related only. You know what I mean, even if I write bad English

Does anyone have any experience in these two universities? I need an opinion from an 'academic' point of view. Thx!

ReputationRep:
    Hi! I did my undergrad in Comp Lit (though in the States, mind, so I don't have a perfect read on this) and I feel like I've heard positive mention of Glasgow from my instructors previously, though I can't remember anything concrete. It probably depends on what kind of Comp Lit you're doing, too. National literature focus? Historical? Theory and crit?

ReputationRep:
    Hi! Thank you for your answer.

The focus would be like critical theory with specific reference to women's studies and psychoanalysis (Freud, Lacan, Mitchell)

ReputationRep:
    Glasgow.

A good Uni for all Arts subjects and a great place to live for a year as a student.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by returnmigrant)
    Glasgow.

A good Uni for all Arts subjects and a great place to live for a year as a student.
    That sounds convincing
    Thank you.

ReputationRep: