Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello, I'm an International European student who has applied for an undergraduate degree I didn't live in UK for the last three years but my country is in EEA ( Bulgaria ). I have questions about my possibilities of receiving student loans/grants and questions about some details.

First of all, I have not yet applied for the student tuition fee loan but I will do it in a short time. I have read that the universities receive the transactions in three instalments, so if I apply now, how I could be sure that the loan will not late and thus to my disconnection from the course ?

I have some questions considering the maintenance grant. As a European student, I know that I'm not eligible for the maintenance grant because of the three years condition. But I have read that there is a maintenance grant for a migrant worker. If I start to work in the early August and continue that during my studies, would I be eligible for the maintenance grant ?

Maintenance granD... Really ?

ReputationRep:
    You can't do anything to prevent it from being late. The deadline was the 30th May to ensure it wasn't late.

I don't think you will be eligible for the maintenance grant as I do believe you would need to be working in the country for 3 years prior starting the course. Have you checked for grants that can be applied for in your home country and that can be used here. Otherwise you will probably struggle with funding your accommodation etc.

ReputationRep:
    I've checked and I found several loans posibilities from banks for a student who will live and study abroad. I believe that the 3 years condition is quite different from the status " migrant worker ". I may be eligible for the maintenance grant if I'm a migrant worker but I don't know the details around this status. What I know is that my country is in EEA, I have the years and I'm eligible for this status.

ReputationRep: