Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    If I were to study Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Chemistry for AS/A-levels, would I be able to get into a Russell group university to study medicine?

ReputationRep:
    You would have many more options if you took Biology instead of FM, but there are few you can apply to. Why limit your options so drastically? Plus many med schools don't accept FM as an A2, so you would have to drop it anyway or take 4 A2's.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by HCubed)
    You would have many more options if you took Biology instead of FM, but there are few you can apply to. Why limit your options so drastically? Plus many med schools don't accept FM as an A2, so you would have to drop it anyway or take 4 A2's.

Thankyou! And I was trying to keep my options as open as possible as I haven't yet decided whether I would prefer to study Maths or Medicine. Would it be particularly advantageous if I studied Biology at AS, as well as the other four? Or would I have to continue it to A2?
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Lucy_Rebecca)
    If I were to study Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Chemistry for AS/A-levels, would I be able to get into a Russell group university to study medicine?
    Take a look at the FAQ: http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/wiki...Guide_and_FAQs

What subjects do I need to take?
    At GCSE you should aim to take a breadth of academic subjects. The subjects which are most important for medical school are Biology, Chemistry, Physics (or the Double Science award), Mathematics and English Language.