Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Do I stand a chance of getting accepted for a MFL PGCE with no second language? My degree is in French and I have basic self taught German but nothing to show for it. What are my chances? I have a first and have done a few weeks work experience.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by RowanB)
    Do I stand a chance of getting accepted for a MFL PGCE with no second language? My degree is in French and I have basic self taught German but nothing to show for it. What are my chances? I have a first and have done a few weeks work experience.
    Hi,

There were several people on my PGCE last year who only had one language. French is still the most widely taught language in most areas although Spanish is catching up.

Given that MFL is classed as a shortage subject, provided you write a good personal statement and perform OK at interview, I wouldn't have thought it would hurt your chances that much.

Would you be willing to consider a Subject Knowledge Enhancement course? I applied for a Secondary French PGCE and was encouraged to go on a 2-week Spanish SKE course in the summer before starting the PGCE. This was aimed at beginners and people who knew a few basics, although I did actually have GCSE Spanish already (just very rusty).

Good luck with your application.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by myrtille)
    Hi,

There were several people on my PGCE last year who only had one language. French is still the most widely taught language in most areas although Spanish is catching up.

Given that MFL is classed as a shortage subject, provided you write a good personal statement and perform OK at interview, I wouldn't have thought it would hurt your chances that much.