Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello everybody,
    I am currently a year 10 student and i'm trying to plan for my future career as early as possible, I am interested in becoming a secondary school PE teacher, I am taking GCSE PE and BTEC Sport already in Y10, And soon i expect to be applying for my 6th form collage, What is the best route into secondary school PE Teaching, I am aware that you can take Physical education as an A level, There is also a BTEC Level three course? What would be best for teaching and then helping me to get into a university? . If any of you have/are working towards being a PE teacher your advise would be appreciated,

Thanks,
    Alfie

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Alfie_Steers)
    Hello everybody,
    I am currently a year 10 student and i'm trying to plan for my future career as early as possible, I am interested in becoming a secondary school PE teacher, I am taking GCSE PE and BTEC Sport already in Y10, And soon i expect to be applying for my 6th form collage, What is the best route into secondary school PE Teaching, I am aware that you can take Physical education as an A level, There is also a BTEC Level three course? What would be best for teaching and then helping me to get into a university? . If any of you have/are working towards being a PE teacher your advise would be appreciated,

Thanks,
    Alfie
    I assume you know you need an undergrad degree first and then the PGCE? The undergraduate degree would need to have at least 50% Sports content in it.

If your doing well in your GCSE's then I would go down the A-Level route, baring in mind that for the top Sports courses you need a Science at A-Level. It leaves the most options open though rather than closing some at 16 (like Lougborough for example)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Alfie_Steers)
    Hello everybody,

Thanks,
    Alfie